After an entire…

Image

After an entire day of traveling Sunday we finally arrived in Halifax!  We had a layover in Toronto where we went through customs and then had to go through security one more time.  We got on our second plane and then were told it was delayed because a light in the bathroom was out.  We ended up sitting on the plane for an extra half an hour while they fixed it.  In Halifax we rented a car and made the trip to our hotel which was reserved for Semester at Sea groups.  The first night we grabbed dinner and walked around town a little.  

Monday we went to lunch with my Dad’s cousin who lives right outside of Halifax.  We went to an Irish restaurant named Durty Nelly’s which is known for their fish and chips.  Their grandson Aiden came who is two.  He provided the entertainment and was the cutest little thing!  They recommended we go up the hill to the Citadel because it has the best view of the city.  We ended up going in and exploring the old fort.  For dinner we met up with my friend Paige and her family.  Paige is a good friend from high school who is going on SAS with me.  It’s nice to have someone I know for all of this first week anxiety!  We went to a restaurant in town and then walked down to the boardwalk to get ice cream from Cow’s which is apparently ranked within the top ten in the world!  We walked the boardwalk home.  It’s amazing to think that the ocean is literally going to be my home for the next three and a half months.  Kinda crazy!  

 

Image

 

 

 

 

On Tuesday both Paige and I’s families packed in the car to drive out to Peggy’s Cove which is one of the most photographed lighthouses in the world.  For lunch we drove out to another small town Lunenberg.  We didn’t spend much time in Lunenberg because it was almost a two hour drive back to Halifax.  For dinner my family went over to my Dad’s cousins house for a lobster boil.  When they heard it was my first time ever having lobster they went all out!  It was fun to be able to get a feel for Canadian culture through not only a local but a family member.Image

 

This morning is full of packing!  Right now I have four bags that need to be condensed into two!  In two hours I’ll be boarding my new home!  I’m getting nervous but I definitely think I’m ready!  I can’t believe the next time I post will be from Europe!  Cya in Ireland!

 
Categories: Uncategorized | 2 Comments

Post navigation

2 thoughts on “After an entire…

  1. Hannah H.

    hahaha you look so cute with that hat and bib on;p
    SO happy for you that you get to experience such a fun semester!

  2. Alyssa

    You are gorgeous! Miss you!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

